ICC T20 World Cup 2024: India’s Journey – Schedule, Venues & More

ICC T20 World Cup 2024

The ninth edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup2024 is upon us, promising an electrifying spectacle of cricket with the biggest stage ever. Here’s a deep dive into everything you need to know about the tournament:

An Expanded Tournament:

This year marks a historic moment for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup2024 with a record-breaking 20 teams vying for the coveted trophy. This expansion promises a more diverse and competitive tournament, with several new nations like the United States and Uganda making their debut.

Familiar Faces, New Battles:

Defending champions England, led by Jos Buttler, will look to retain their title. Meanwhile, 50-over world champions Australia, under the captaincy of Mitch Marsh, are strong contenders. Traditional powerhouses India (Rohit Sharma) and Pakistan (Babar Azam) aim to add the T20 crown to their cabinet.

The Format:

The tournament unfolds in two stages:

  • Group Stage: The twenty teams compete in a round-robin format, split into four groups of five. Each team faces all other teams in their group, with the top two progressing to the Super 8s.
  • Super 8s: Two groups consisting of the eight surviving teams are formed. Here, each team plays the other three teams in their group once. The top two teams from each Super 8s group advance to the semi-finals, culminating in a thrilling final on June 29th in Barbados.

India’s Campaign:

The Men in Blue, under Rohit Sharma‘s leadership, begin their quest on June 5th. Here’s a breakdown of their journey:

  • Group A: India is grouped with Ireland, Canada, Pakistan, and the United States (co-hosts) in Group A. The United States will host all Group A games.
  • India’s Schedule: The Indian team kicks off against Ireland on June 5th, followed by their highly anticipated clash against arch-rivals Pakistan on June 9th. They then face the United States on June 12th before concluding the group stage against Canada on June 15th.

Super 8s – A Glimpse into the Future:

While the official group placements for the Super 8s will depend on the group stage performance, some interesting possibilities exist:

  • Predetermined Seeding: The eighth seeded teams (England, Australia, India, Pakistan, New Zealand, West Indies, South Africa, and Sri Lanka) have predetermined positions in the Super 8s. This means regardless of the group stage outcome, India is likely to be slotted as A1, facing teams like Australia, New Zealand, and Sri Lanka in the Super 8s stage.

A Look at India’s Potential Super 8s Schedule:

Assuming India finishes as expected, here’s their potential Super 8s schedule:

  • June 20th: New Zealand vs India (Barbados)
  • June 22nd: India vs Sri Lanka (Antigua)
  • June 24th: Australia vs India (St Lucia)

India’s Squad:

After much deliberation, the BCCI has selected a potent squad. Notably, Rishabh Pant returns to the international stage after a major injury, sharing wicket keeping duties with Sanju Samson.

Full Squad:

  • Captain: Rohit Sharma
  • Players: Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj


  • Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, Avesh Khan

A Tournament Steeped in Tradition and Excitement:

The stage is set for an unforgettable ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. With an expanded format, fierce competition, and the return of iconic players, this tournament promises to be a true cricketing spectacle. So, gear up to witness breathtaking sixes, nail-biting finishes, and the crowning of a new champion!

Do You Know 

Diamond Exchange is the most trusted online cricket betting platform in India. If you’re a cricket fan interested in betting, you can easily get an Online Cricket ID from this platform. Diamond 247sports is an excellent choice for online cricket betting. It offers a wide range of betting options, competitive odds, and live betting features. The platform is user-friendly and secure, making it the best option for safe betting. To start, simply get your online cricket ID.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *